Exchange Server 2007 – How to License + Standard and Enterprise CAL functionality

 

Exchange 2007 is licensed in per Server and CAL mode

You need a Server license for each running instance of Exchange on the server and CAL for every User and Device accessing the services of the Exchange Server

Did you know – Office Outlook is NOT provided as part of the Exchange CAL offering, this is a change from Exchange 2003, it is available stand-alone or as part of Office Pro Plus/Enterprise

Did you know – Office Outlook WEB ACCESS is provided as part of Exchange Standard CAL

 

Exchange Client Access Licenses <CAL> are offered in 2 flavours

Exchange Standard CAL and Exchange Enterprise CAL, Standard CAL will give you basic functionality, as below, Enterprise CAL fits on top of Standard CAL to give Enterprise functionality, both CALs are required to provide Enterprise functionality

 

Exchange Transition and Migration Plans next time…………..

11 Comments

  1. I have one question about the CALs. If I deploy Exchange 2007 on Server 2008, I understand that I need the underlying server 2008 license, the Exchange server 2007 license, and the Exchange 2007 CALs for every user.
     
    My question is, do I also require Windows 2008 CALs for all of my users?
     
    Thanks,
     
    Jeff

  2. In regards to exchange licensing, what would I require for this scenario:
     
    3 Users (Each has win2k8 CAL and exch2k7 CAL)
    –These physical users require 2 Mailboxes (Different Names) so they can send as various addresses (Multiple Domain Names for Email).
     
    Do I need 6 Cals, or am I covered with 3?
    Thanks
     
    Ben Cochrane

  3. So if I understand this….
     
    If I have all 2003 Servers and 2003 Server CAL\’s for my users and I want to start using Exchange 2007 on a 2008 Server (the first, and probably only for a year or so 2008 Server), I have to buy 2008 Server, Exchange 2007, Exchange 2007 CAL\’s for my users AND upgrade all my 2003 Server CAL\’s to 2008 CAL\’s.
     
    That\’s going to cost al lot of money for just 1 2008 Server. So if you\’re not able to spend a fortune on only a mail-migration (IBM Domino to Exchange 2007), staying with 2003 Server is the only option?

  4. Hi Emma, I have a question around journaling within Exchange Enterprise CAL. What are the rules about this? If using per User CALs, can only a certain segment of a company workforce user journaling or is it all or nothing? Is there a specific section on licensing journaling anywhere? Thanks John

  5. Hi JohnWe are in the process of finalising some whitepapers to expand on the licensing requirements for Std and Ent funcitonality, these are not currently posted, can you send me your email and I will share some info with you on this, as soon as they are final, I will publish on my blogCheersEmma

  6. Hi Emma,

    One major question is running in my mind.
    If I have Exchange 2010 Enterprise Edition on Windows 2008 Ent. Server. I want to give only web access to all my exchange users. Do I need windows Server CALS? Or I must need Server CAL for all users? I am using Enterprise Exchange CAL.

    Please reply.

  7. Hi Emma, if I’m planning on deploying a cluster of six physical servers underlying my CAS servers how would I licence this? Would I need six server licences along with my
    CALs or more? How does the passive node come into play? Thanks, Lucy.

  8. Hi, I have one question about CAL license, nowdays I have one windows server 2008 that have Domain Controller and have Mail server (Exchange Server 2010) run on it. It’s running Windows Server CAL 10 license and Exchange Server CAL 10 license also and all user were jointing with Domain Controller But now I have 5 users more that do’n’t joint with Domain Controller. But I want 5 users can user mail server also. The question is I should buy Exchange Server 5 CALs more or I no need to buy CAL or have another option I should choose? Thanks

Leave a Reply

